1. K-State home
  2. »College of Engineering
  3. »Engineering Research and Graduate Programs
  4. »Faculty / Staff Development
  5. »2014-2015 Untenured Faculty Meetings

Office of Engineering Research and Graduate Programs

Engineering Research and Graduate Programs (ERGP)
Kansas State University
College of Engineering
1042 Rathbone Hall
1701B Platt St.
Manhattan, KS 66506

785-532-5844
Fax:785-532-7810
ergp@k-state.edu

2014-2015 Tenure Track Faculty Meetings

DateTitle
8/29/2014Kick Off Meeting
9/9/2014Teaching Tips from Teaching Awardees
10/2/2014University Resources for Working with Industry
11/13/2014Dealing with Difficult Scenarios
12/11/2014Creating Your "Brand"
1/30/2015Libraries/ KREX
2/13/2015Tenure and Promotion
3/27/2015Conflict Management
4/17/2015Graduate Recruitment
5/21/2015ERGP Career Workshop
7/8/2015Conflict Resolution Workshop

 

NOTE: TO WATCH ANY OF THE FOLLOWING VIDEOS INTERNET EXPLORER MUST BE USED


August 29, 2014

Kick off Meeting

Presenter:
Noel Schulz

Handouts:
Information & Announcements - 8/29/14
Fall 2014 events calendar
Resources for Funding Opportunities
Early Career Faculty Resources
K-State USDA/USRG program information
Early Career funding opportunities
Editor information
Articles of interest (on-line)
Travel clinic information

 


 September 9, 2014

Teaching Tips from Teaching Awardees

Presenters: 
Todd Easton, Professor, Industrial and Manufacturing Systems Engineering, teaston@ksu.edu;
Steve Eckels, Professor, Mechanical and Nuclear Engineering, eckels@ksu.edu;
Hayder Rasheed, Professor, Civil Engineering, hayder@ksu.edu

Handouts:
Information & Announcements, 9/4/14
Easton PPT presentation (PDF)
Eckels PPT presentation (PDF)
ASEE home page
Peer Review of Teaching Program, K-State Teaching & Learning Center

 

 


 October 2, 2014

University Resources for Working with Industry

Presenters:
Kent Glasscock, President, KSU Institute for Commercialization, kentglas@ksu.edu
Paul Lowe, Assistant Vice President for Research and Director of Research and Sponsored Programs, plowe@ksu.edu
Richard Potter, Director, Office of Corporate Engagement, rmpotter@ksu.edu
Mitzi Richards, Senior Director, Corporate and Foundation Relations, mitzir@ksu.edu

Handouts:
Agenda & Announcements, 10/02/14
Institute for Commercialization (PDF)
Industry Relations Contact Info (PDF)
Working with Industry: Strategies, Perspective and Resources to Support Industry (PDF)
Holistic Corporate Engagement (PDF)

Other:

IP 101: What Does a Patent Do for Me Anyway?

 

 


 November 13, 2014

Dealing with Difficult Scenarios

Presenter:
Noel Schulz

Handouts:
Agenda 11/13/14
Dealing with Difficult Scenarios

 

No Recording Available

 


 December 11, 2014

Creating Your "Brand"

Presenter:
Karen Burg

Handouts:
Agenda 12/11/14
Develop an Elevator Speech, ASEE-PRISM

 

 

 


 January 30, 2015

Libraries/KREX

Presenters: 
Marty Courtois, Scholarly Communications & Publishing, Center for Digital Scholarship and Publishing, courtois@k-state.edu;
Beth Turtle, Professor, Center for Digital Scholarship and Publishing, bturtle@ksu.edu

Handouts:
Information & Announcements, 1/30/14
Open Access and the K-State Research Exchange (K-Rex) (PDF)

 

 

 


 February 13, 2015

Tenure and Promotion

Presenter:
Dean Dawson, College of Engineering, dmdawson@ksu.edu

Handouts:
Agenda and Announcements, 2/13/15
Dean Dawson's PPT "On Tenure" (PDF)

 

No Recording Available

 


 March 27, 2015

Conflict Management

Presenter:
Terrie McCants, Instructor, Family Studies and Human Services, terrie@ksu.edu 

Handouts:
Agenda and Announcements, 3/27/15
Terrie McCants PPT "Conflict Resolution in the Academy" (PDF)

 

 


April 17, 2015

Graduate Recruitment

Presenters:
Bala Natarajan, Professor, Electrical and Computer Engineering, bala@ksu.edu
Ronaldo Maghirang, Professor, Biological and Agricultural Engineering, rmaghir@ksu.edu 

Handouts:
Agenda and Announcements, 4/17/15
Bala Natarajan PPT (PDF)
Ronaldo Maghirang PPT (PDF)

 

 


 May 21, 2015

ERGP Career Workshop

Presenters: 
Carole Lovin, Research Administrator, Engineering Research and Graduate Programs, clovin@ksu.edu
Gurpreet Singh, Professor, Mechanical and Nuclear Engineering, gupreet@ksu.edu;
Mary Lou Marino, Development Director, Research and Sponsored Programs, mlmarino@ksu.edu
Katie Allen, Project Development Specialist, Office of Educational Innovation and Evaluation, klallen@ksu.edu
Anita Fahrny, Assistant Director, Research and Sponsored Programs, afahrny@ksu.edu
Effie Swanson, Grant Specialist, Research and Sponsored Programs, effies@ksu.edu

Handouts:
2015 NSF CAREER Overview - Carole Lovin (PDF)
CAREER Proposal Tips from NSF - Mary Lou Marino (PDF)
Merit Review Criteria - Mary Lou Marino (PDF)
OEIE Program Evaluation - Katie Allen (PDF)

 

 No Recording Available

 


 July 8, 2015

Conflict Resolution Workshop

Presenter:
Terrie McCants, Instructor, Family Studies and Human Services, terrie@ksu.edu 

 

No Recording Available