1. K-State home
  2. »Carl R. Ice College of Engineering
  3. »Engineering Research and Graduate Programs
  4. »Faculty / Staff Development
  5. »2016-2017 Untenured Faculty Meetings

Engineering Research and Graduate Programs

Engineering Research and Graduate Programs
1042 Rathbone Hall
1701B Platt St.
Manhattan, KS 66506

785-532-5844
Fax:785-532-7810
ergp@k-state.edu

2017-2018 Tenure Track Faculty Meetings

DateTitle
09/21/2017Effectively Managing Start-Up Packages and Sponsored Projects
10/19/2017Exploring Pivot Funding Opportunities System and Early Career Funding Opportunities
11/16/2017Effective Recruitment, Mentoring and Evaluation of Graduate Students
12/14/2017Incorporating Statistical Methodology for a Research Proposal
01/18/2018Challenges and Successes of Collaborative Proposal Partnering
02/15/2018Teaching Quality,Techniques & Tools
03/29/2018Tenure & Promotion
04/12/2018Pacing Yourself as a New Faculty Member
05/17/2018How to Find Business & Industry Partners for Research & Technology Transfer - Rescheduled for Fall 2018

Upcoming times and locations:
05/17/2018 - 11:30 AM-1:00 PM, 1139 Engineering Hall, Ice Conference Room


 September 21, 2017

Effectively Managing Start-Up Packages & Sponsored Projects

Presenters:
Melanie Derby, Assistant Professor, Mechanical and Nuclear Engineering
Theresa Hogenkamp, Business Manager, Computer Science
Brad Kramer, Department Head, Industrial and Manufacturing Systems Engineering
Roger McBride, Assistant Director, Sponsored Programs Accounting
Chassy Nichols, Assistant Budget/Fiscal Officer, College of Engineering

Handouts:
Agenda & Announcements

For more information and assistance with start-up packages you may contact Chassy Nichols, chassy@ksu.edu.  For information on sponsored projects you may contact Carole Lovin, clovin@ksu.edu, 532-5463.

 


 October 19, 2017

Exploring Pivot Funding Opportunities System and Early Career Funding Opportunities

Presenter:
Mary Lou Marino, Director of Research and Sponsored Programs

Handouts:
Agenda & Announcements
PIVOT Information Session 2017 PowerPoint

For questions about the Pivot Funding Opportunities System, contact Mary Lou Marino, mlmarino@ksu.edu, 532-3211. 

 


November 16, 2017

Effective Recruitment, Mentoring and Evaluation of Graduate Students

Presenters:
Keith Hohn, Professor, Chemical Engineering;
Bala Natarajan, Professor, Electrical and Computer Engineering;
Pavithra Prabhakar, Associate Professor, Computer Science

Handouts:
Agenda & Announcements
Life Cycle of a Graduate Aspirant-Natarajan FA2017
MS Expectations 
PhD Expectations


For questions on recruiting, mentoring and evaluating graduate students, email Keith Hohn, hohn@ksu.edu; Bala Natarajan, bala@ksu.edu; or Pavithra Prabhakar, pprabhakar@ksu.edu.

 


December 14, 2017

 Incorporating Statistical Methodology for a Research Proposal

Presenters:
Shing Chang, Associate Professor, Industrial and Manufacturing Systems Engineering
Trevor Hefley, Assistant Professor, Statistics
Lydia Yang, Assistant Professor, Department of Special Education, Counseling and Student Affairs

Handouts:
Agenda & Announcements
Incorporating Statistical Methodology for a Research Proposal - Chang
TTFN: Incorporating Statistical Methodology for a Research Proposal - Yang

For questions on statistical methodology for research proposals, email Chang Shing, changs@ksu.edu; Trevor Hefley, thefley@ksu.edu; or Lydia Yang, yyang001@ksu.edu.

 


 January 18, 2017

 Challenges and Successes of Collaborative Proposal Partnering

Presenters:
Mo Hosni, Professor, Mechanical and Nuclear Engineering
Kimberly Kirkpatrick, Professor, Psychological Sciences
Behrooz Mirafzal, Associate Professor, Electrical and Computer Engineering
Gurpreet Singh, Associate Professor, Mechanical and Nuclear Engineering

Handouts:
Agenda & Announcements

For questions regarding collaborative proposal partnering email Mo Hosni, hosni@ksu.edu; Kimberly Kirkpatrick, kirkpatr@ksu.edu; Behrooz Mirafzal, mirafzal@ksu.edu; or Gurpreet Singh, gurpreet@ksu.edu.

 


 February 15, 2018

Teaching Quality, Techniques and Tools

Presenters:
Todd Easton, Professor, Industrial and Manufacturing Systems Engineering
Lisa Wilken, Assistant Professor, Biological and Agricultural Engineering
Keith Hohn, Professor, Chemical Engineering
Kevin Wanklyn, Instructor, Mechanical and Nuclear Engineering

Handouts:
Agenda & Announcements
Active Learning Teaching Techniques
Learning as Biological Brain Change
Scientific Teaching-Wilken
Scientific Teaching FETE Wilken


For questions on teaching quality, techniques and tools email Todd Easton, teaston@ksu.edu; Lisa Wilken, lwilken@ksu.edu; Keith Hohn, hohn@ksu.edu;or Kevin Wanklyn, kwanklyn@ksu.edu

 


 March 29, 2018

 Tenure & Promotion

Presenters:
Darren Dawson, Dean, College of Engineering
Gary Clark, Senior Associate Dean, College of Engineering

Handouts: 
Agenda & Announcements
On Tenure - Darren Dawson
Promotion and Tenure Success Strategies - Gary Clark

For questions on tenure and promotion, email Gary Clark, gac@ksu.edu or Darren Dawson, dmdawson@ksu.edu

 


 April 12, 2018

 Pacing Yourself as a New Faculty Member

Presenters:
Melanie Derby, Assistant Professor, Mechanical and Nuclear Engineering
Punit Prakash, Assistant Professor, Electrical and Computer Engineering
Jessica Heier Stamm, Assistant Professor, Industrial and Manufacturing Systems Engineering

Handouts:
Agenda & Announcements
Career Maps Benchmarks-Heier Stamm
My Writing Productivity Pipeline - The Chronicle of Higher Education-Heier Stamm
Resources for Early Career Faculty - April 2018
2018 NSF CAREER Resources


For questions on pacing yourself as a new faculty member, email Melanie Derby, derbym@ksu.edu, Punit Prakash, prakashp@ksu.edu or Jessica Heier Stamm, jlhs@ksu.edu.