1. K-State home
  2. »College of Engineering
  3. »Engineering Research and Graduate Programs
  4. »Faculty / Staff Development
  5. »2015-2016 Untenured Faculty Meetings

Office of Engineering Research and Graduate Programs

Office of Engineering Research and Graduate Programs
Kansas State University
College of Engineering
1042 Rathbone Hall
1701B Platt St.
Manhattan, KS 66506

785-532-5844
Fax:785-532-7810
ergp@k-state.edu

2015-16 Tenure-Track Faculty Meetings

DateTopic
Tues, Sept 22Pacing Yourself as a Faculty Member                         
Tues, Oct 13 Sponsored Projects Process and Recent VPR policies
Tues, Nov 10  Update on Research Resources (internal grants, collaborations, workshops, etc.)
Tues, Dec 8 ABET Accreditation
Thurs, Jan 28The Basics of Disclosure and Patent Processes / Introduction to Kansas State University Research Foundation (KSURF)
Thurs, Feb 4Tenure and Promotion
Thurs Feb 18Managing and Evaluating Graduate Students
Thurs, March 24Education and Outreach
Thurs, April 28Panel: Collaborative Research Activities
Thurs, May 24NSF CAREER Workshop

 


September 22, 2015

Pacing Yourself as a Faculty Member

Panelists:
Jessica Heier-Stamm, Professor, Industiral and Manufacturing Systems Engineering, jlhs@k-state.edu;  
Stacey Kulesza, Professor, Civil Engineering, sekulesza@k-state.edu;
Gurpreet Singh, Professor, Mechanical and Nuclear Engineering, gurpreet@k-state.edu

Handouts:
Agenda & Announcements
Survival manual for new faculty: Seasoned faculty members around the country offer tips for new professors
The Awesomest 7-Year Postdoc or: How I Learned to stop Worrying and Love the Tenure-Track Faculty Life
Preparing for Academic Life
The Top Ten Things New Faculty Would Like to Hear from Colleagues
USRG & FDA Grants and ERGP Matching Support Funds (handout)
SPARK Week


Meeting video

 


 October 13, 2015

Sponsored Project Proposal Processes and New Vice President for Research (VPR) Policies

Panelists:
Anita Fahrny, Assistant Director, PreAward Services, afahrny@k-state.edu;
Katie Small , Manager of Contract Negotiations, PreAward Services, ksmall@k-state.edu

Handouts:
Agenda & Announcements
Overview of services available from PreAward Services office
Lead Time Policy Statement (for proposals)
F&A Cost Policy
Cost Share Commitments Policy
Grants vs. Contract or Agreement
PreAward Agreement Templates
PreAward Forms
Working with Industry Bootcamps - videos and presentations
Events calendar - Office of Research and Sponsored Programs


Meeting video

 


 November 10, 2015

Update on Research Resources (internal grants, collaborations, workshops, etc.)

Panelists:
Mary Lou Marino, Development Director, Office of Research and Sponsored Programs, mlmarino@ksu.edu;  
Joel Anderson, Development Directors, Office of Research and Sponsored Programs, jdanderson@ksu.edu;
Sarah Hancock, Communications Coordinator, Office of Vice President for Research, sarhan@ksu.edu

Handouts:
Agenda & Announcements
Presentation slides
Research topics from VPR's website
2016 NSF CAREER workshop opportunities


Meeting video

 


 December 8, 2015

The Basics of ABET Accreditation

Panelists:
Gary Clark, Senior Associate Dean in the College of Engineering, gac@k-state.edu;
Mo Hosni, Professor, Mechanical and Nuclear Engineering, hosni@k-state.edu

Handouts:
Agenda & Announcement
ABET Basics presentation slides
ABET program evaluator sheet


Meeting video

 


 January 28, 2016

K-State Invention Disclosure Process

Presenter:
Chris Brandt, Interim Vice President for Technology Transfer, KSU Research Foundation, brandtcd@k-state.edu

Handouts:
Agenda & Announcements
Things to do in Manhattan
Invention Disclosure Process slides


Meeting video

 


 February 4, 2016

Tenure and Promotion

Presenter:
Dean Darren Dawson, dmdawson@k-state.edu

Handouts:
Agenda & Announcements
Tenure & Promotion slides

 

No Recording Available

 


 February 18, 2016

Managing and Evaluating Graduate Students

Presenters:
David Ben-Arieh, Professor, Industrial and Manufacturing Systems Engineering, davidbe@k-state.edu
Doina Caragea, Professor, Computer Science; dcaragea@k-state.edu
James Edgar, Department Head, Chemical Engineering, edgarjh@k-state.edu

Handouts:
Agenda & Announcements
Resources for faculty


Meeting video

 


 March 24, 2016

Campus Resources for Meeting the Education and Outreach Components of a Proposal

Panelists: 
Bette Grauer, Asst. Dean for Retention, grauerb@k-state.edu; 
Sujatha Prakash, Outreach Coordinator, sujatha@k-state.edu;
LaVerne Bitsie-Baldwin, Director, Multicultural Engineering Program, lbaldwin@k-state.edu; 
Sara Heiman, KAWSE Program Coordinator, sjheiman@k-state.edu

Handouts:
Agenda & Announcements
KSU Engineering Outreach Program
DCHS Program
Broader Impacts Elements by KSU MEP Director Spring 2016
Broader Impacts Presentation 2016
GROW & EXCITE Summer Workshops Handout


Meeting video

 


April 28, 2016


Collaborative Research: Partnering on Large Proposal Submissions

Panelists:
Mary Rezac, interim associate vice president for research, rezac@ksu.edu;
Bob Rowland, professor of diagnostic medicine and pathobiology, rrowland@k-state.edu;
Stephen Welch, professor of agronomy, welchsm@k-state.edu;
Ruth Welti, distinguished professor of biology, welti@k-state.edu

Handouts:
Agenda & Announcements


Meeting video